top of page

What are the different Boxing Weight Divisions and Belts?

Weight Divisions

Why do we have different weight divisions?

Weight divisions have been around a long time and were designed to keep the boxers safe and the ensure bouts were fair. It makes matching the opponents easier whilst making sure skill remains the most important factor when deciding the winner. Without these different weight divisions it would make it very hard for a smaller boxer with great skill to win belts and become champion.

The saying "the bigger you are, the harder you hit" seems relevant here! Whilst there are exceptions, it is fair to say that in a mismatched fight the smaller opponent stands a much greater risk of harm or serious injury and in turn loosing the fight. When it come to professional fighting even the smallest of weight differences can result in a great advantage.

So a weight class or division is essentially a way of ordering/categorising boxers by their weight measurements to protect both the boxers safety and the fairness of the sport.

What are the different boxing weight divisions or classes?

The professional governing bodies now recognise a total of 17 different weight divisions in mens Professional Boxing they are as follows:

  • Minimumweight, 105 pounds (48 kg)

  • Light flyweight, 108 pounds (49 kg)

  • Flyweight, 112 pounds (51 kg)

  • Super flyweight, 115 pounds (52 kg)

  • Bantamweight, 118 pounds (53.5 kg)

  • Super bantamweight, 122 pounds (55 kg)

  • Featherweight, 126 pounds (57 kg)

  • Super featherweight, 130 pounds (59 kg)

  • Lightweight, 135 pounds (61 kg)

  • Super lightweight, 140 pounds (63.5 kg)

  • Welterweight, 147 pounds (67 kg)

  • Super welterweight, 154 pounds (70 kg)

  • Middleweight, 160 pounds (72.5 kg)

  • Super middleweight, 168 pounds (76 kg)

  • Light heavyweight, 175 pounds (79 kg)

  • Cruiserweight, 200 pounds (91 kg)

  • Heavyweight, unlimited

The weight divisions for Olympic-style amateur mens Boxing are as follows:

  • Light flyweight, not more than 108 pounds (49 kg)

  • Flyweight, 115 pounds (52 kg)

  • Bantamweight, 123 pounds (56 kg)

  • Lightweight, 132 pounds (60 kg)

  • Light welterweight, 141 pounds (64 kg)

  • Welterweight, 152 pounds (69 kg)

  • Middleweight, 165 pounds (75 kg)

  • Light heavyweight, 178 pounds (81 kg)

  • Heavyweight, 201 pounds (91 kg)

  • Super heavyweight, any weight over 201 pounds (91 kg)

Boxing Title Belts

In the sport of professional boxing there are 4 major sanctioning bodies and they all have their own belts, they are as follows!

  • The World Boxing Association (WBA) Anthony Joshua 22/02/2020

  • The World Boxing Council (WBC) Tyson Fury 22/02/2020

  • The International Boxing Federation (IBF) Anthony Joshua 07/12/2019

  • The World Boxing Organisation (WBO) Anthony Joshua


Our Ring Girls wait to be back and see the safe return of boxing. To catch up with the girls and all our BTS from events make sure you follow Finesse Ring Girls on our Socials below!

115 views0 comments


bottom of page